Pearl (introduction)

Pearl

81 year old lady who lives in Bagtown. She’s short and has a really wide ass, wears pink pants and has a little hairy dog who makes her complain at. Doesn’t have a boyfriend, doesn’t want one. “they’re too self centered” She prefers the dog.

The first time I saw her was on the sidewalk. I walked up to her to say hello not knowing how she would react. To my surprise she was open to conversation. I mentioned her plants growing in front of her house looking for a topic. We could hear her dog yapping away from the window. “Oh be quiet” she yelled at him from the sidewalk, he didn’t care and kept barking. She showed me her tomato plants and I started to ask her questions. She is the first born of seventeen children. “I was a still born, doctor thought I was dead.” But she wanted to live and there she was…alive and old. She’s not lively in the way she moves, too fat. But her eyes make up for the body that traps her and when she laughs they light up full of life.

She lives in front of the Hotel. It’s a dingy place, often empty but it’s the only place in town to have a beer. Besides, it does have it’s moments, but most of the time it’s empty, with Tania, my friend who works there as the bartender. She just sits there on the front porch talking to the few customers and smokes cigarettes.

Pearl seems to like to talk so I asked her if I could come and visit her one day “yes, drop by any time” she went on to invite me to make pickles with her. A couple of days later I rang the doorbell, I could hear her yell “shut up!” to Tinker, her dog. She opened the door, smiled and said “Come on in” Inside her house was a poster that said ‘If I want your opinion, I’ll give it to you’ She started talking to me about some guy who works for the town. “I’ve got a cockroach down there” (meaning her storage room) she thinks he goes down there to snoop. “you mean Bobby?” “I call him asshole” she replied.

Pearl seemed pleased to have an apprentice in her kitchen and started giving me lessons; “that’s it with pickles, you gotta use your head”. It was the first one.

Share !

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Recent anecdotes

Pearl (introduction)

Pearl

La première fois que je l’ai vu, elle portait des pantalons roses qui exposaient des petites chevilles qui supportaient son large cul et lui donnaient une démarche chancelante. Elle se nomme Pearl. Elle a 81 ans, n’est pas grande et assez ronde. Elle a un petit chien poilu au lieu d’un chum. Elle en veut pas “ils sont égoïstes et leur cerveau est dans leur coulottes”

J’étais assise sur le balcon de l’hôtel et j’ai traversé la rue pour lui parler. À ma surprise, elle était ouverte à la conversation. En cherchant un sujet, j’ai mentionné ses plants de tomates qui poussaient devant  sa maison. De l’intérieur on pouvait entendre son chien japper. Elle lui criait de se taire mais il s’en foutait et continuait. Elle m’a montré ses tomates et je me suis mise à lui poser des questions. Elle est la première née de dix-sept enfants. “J’ai été une mort-né, le médecin pensait que j’étais morte” Mais elle voulait vivre et la voilà, vieille et vivante. Elle est emprisonnée dans son vieux corps mais ses yeux sont plein de vie et ils sourient quand elle rit… et elle rit souvent.

Elle habite en face de l’hôtel, une place terne et souvent vide mais c’est la seule place ou aller prendre une bière dans le village. En plus, il y a des moments ou ça lève mais la majorité du temps c’est vide…. avec mon amie Tania qui travaille comme serveuse. Elle passe la majorité de son temps assise sur le balcon, fumant des cigarettes, placotant avec les quelques clients.

Pearl semble aimer parler alors je lui ai demandé si je pouvais revenir lui rendre visite. “viens quand tu veux” et elle m’a invité à faire des cornichons. Quelques jours plus tard je sonnais à sa porte. Dans sa cuisine il y avait une petite affiche encardrée avec une devise ‘Si je veux ton opinion, je vais te la donner’ Elle c’est mise a me parler d’un gars qui travaille pour la ville “j’ai une coquerelle dans cave” (en parlant de sa salle de stockage) elle pense qu’il y va pour fouiner. “tu veux dire Bobby?” A quoi elle répondit “Je l’appelle trou du cul”

Pearl semblait heureuse d’avoir un apprenti dans sa cuisine “C’est ça avec les cornichons, faut utiliser ca tête” C’était ma première leçon.

Partagez !

Partager sur facebook
Partager sur twitter
Partager sur pinterest
Partager sur linkedin
Partager sur email

Dernières anecdotes